Not a Happy Pride Month

It’s Not a Happy Pride Month for Me

It’s Pride Month and unlike other Queer folk I’m not happy about a number of things.

I’m not happy with how you keep quiet when your friends and family talk smack about Queer folk.
I’m not happy with how you misgender and deadname a transgender person in private but use their correct pronouns and name in public.
I’m not happy with how you mock Queer people who do not dress, look or act the way you are comfortable with.
I’m not happy because a large number of Queer persons have been murdered and raped in South Africa and the rest of the World in 2021 alone just for being themselves.
I’m not happy with the way religious organisations and churches are undermining Queer Rights and activism work that is being done.
I’m not happy with how people project their toxic conservatism onto me.
I’m not happy with how political parties are using Queer rights as fodder to garner votes and supporters but don’t genuinely care about us.
I’m not happy with how the Police treat survivors and families of victims when it comes to Queer Hate Crimes.
I’m not happy with how multi-national companies are quick to say they support Queer rights but do not give their Queer employees equal opportunities, recognition, better working conditions and pay.
I’m not happy with how many companies in South Africa are light years behind when it comes to understanding not just Sexual Orientation, but also Gender Identity.
I’m not happy with how especially Black Queer lives mean nothing to rich and powerful countries from the Global North.
I’m not happy that governments can talk about Queer rights on the one side but still abuse Human rights on the other side. Queers are not the window dressing for your Butchery.
I’m not happy that your only reference in understanding my existence is RuPaul’s Drag Race, Priscilla Queen of the Desert or that one friend you know.
I’m not happy that you don’t realise that respecting a Transgender person’s chosen name and pronouns isn’t optional. It is recognising their humanity.
I’m not happy that you criticise people who do not wish to “fit” into the same gender mould as you. I threw that gender mould away long ago.
I’m not happy that you think it is only my responsibility to school you about Queer rights and issues. It is your responsibility too. School yourself.
I’m not happy with you and you can do better.

Published by carladebouchet

South African born Artist, Performer, Designer, Female Impersonator, LGBTQI Activist, Entrepeneur and Philanthropist.

Leave a comment